small text medium text large text

Quick Facts Databases

Logging on from home or work?

You can log into almost all of the databases listed below from outside the library using your library barcode number. If you don't have a library card, you may register for one online.

Please make sure that you are accessing this page via http://www.carnegielibrary.org/ and NOT clpgh.org. Click here to correct.

Those databases specified with "No Remote Access" must be used from a computer inside the library. "Remote Access (CLP Card)" databases are only accessible with a Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh (CLP) library card. Click here if not a CLP cardholder.

Dictionaries

Oxford English Dictionary   Library Access   NO Remote Access
Contains the complete text of the Oxford English Dictionary from its 20-volume Second Edition and its 3-volume Additions Series.

 

Oxford Reference Online   Library Access   Remote Access
(CLP Card)
Definitions and translations from over 100 full-text dictionaries on foreign languages, art, history, literature, science, and more.

 

General Reference

Access PA POWER Library   Library Access   Remote Access

Beginning February 1 there will be changes to the Pennsylvania POWER Library, including the loss of some resources and the addition of others. Thank you for your patience while we finalize these new arrnagements. Questions, comments and access problems should be addressed to info@carnegielibrary.org.



 

Access Pennsylvania On-Line Catalog   Available to Everyone
Shared catalog for materials owned by most PA libraries.

 

African American Experience   Library Access   Remote Access
(CLP Card)
Full text information on African American history and culture.

 

Associations Unlimited   Library Access   Remote Access
(CLP Card)
Detailed information on national, international and regional associations.

 

CUFTS   Available to everyone
Built by Simon Frazer University, CUFTS allows you to look up a journal title, see in which databases it is indexed, and what the date ranges of full-text coverage, if any, are. Once you've found your databases, view our alphabetical list to see if the Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh subscribes.

 

Oxford Reference Online   Library Access   Remote Access
(CLP Card)
Definitions and translations from over 100 full-text dictionaries on foreign languages, art, history, literature, science, and more.

 

Reference Universe   Library Access   NO Remote Access
Reference Universe searches the complete indexes of more than 10,000 designated reference titles, and then indicates which titles are in the collection at Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh’s Main Library. Nearly 2,000 of these titles are online editions. Reference Universe places the reference collection of Carnegie Library’s Main Library at your fingertips and is updated monthly.

 

WorldCat   Library Access   Remote Access
(CLP Card)
Search the holdings of over 9,000 libraries at one time. If you find something that you want, and we don't have it, you can use Interlibrary Loan.
Non-CLP cardholders: Search WorldCat