In observance of Memorial Day all Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh locations will be closed on Monday, May 28, 2012.
small text medium text large text

Government & Law
Research Databases

Logging on from home or work?

You can log into almost all of the databases listed below from outside the library using your library barcode number. If you don't have a library card, you may do so by reviewing the registration options on our Get a Library Card page.

Please make sure that you are accessing this page via http://www.carnegielibrary.org/ and NOT clpgh.org. Click here to correct.

Those databases specified with "No Remote Access" must be used from a computer inside the library. "Remote Access (CLP Card)" databases are only accessible with a Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh (CLP) library card. Click here if not a CLP cardholder.

Having problems? See our Troubleshooting Tips or contact us.

CQ Researcher Plus Archive
Remote Access
(CLP Card)
CQ Researcher Plus Archive provides unbiased coverage of current issues, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Each report is researched and written by a seasoned journalist providing an overview, chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; pro/con viewpoints of opposing positions; and supporting data including bibliographies of key sources. The CQ Researcher archive includes more than 3,000 reports published between 1923 and 1990.
Global Issues in Context
Remote Access
(CLP Card)
Looking for high-quality information on current events and controversial issues? Global Issues in Context gathers together journal articles, news reports, and other sources of credible information on topics of worldwide interest. Explore all sides of society's most important issues with this full-text database. Great for students and concerned citizens alike!
Law Depot
Remote Access
(CLP Card)
Access to thousands of do-it-yourself legal forms across all categories, including Real Estate, Business, Human Resources, and Wills. Forms can be saved, edited, and printed.
NO Remote Access
Catalog of U. S. Government publications from 1976 to the present.
Although initially centered on New York City, you can input your zipcode to find out the racial makeup, income, home values (increase/decline), and education levels of any neighborhood. Data is from the U.S. Census Bureau's American Community Survey, based on samples from 2005 to 2009.
United States Serial Set & Congressional Papers (Proquest)
NO Remote Access
There are five databases you can search, all using the same search page or interface. Use advanced search to limit it to only one database.
  • Congressional
    Contains the full text of congressional publications, finding aids, a bill tracking service, and the full text of public laws and other research materials.
  • Congressional Hearings, 1824 - 1979
    Both published and unpublished Hearings contain the full transcripts of proceedings, including all oral statements, committee questions, and discussion.
  • Congressional Research Digital Collection
    Consists of research reports from 1916 to 1970 ranging from brief summaries to full-length studies prepared by subject experts for Members of Congress on a wide range of topics.
  • United States Serial Set
    This collection of government publications (1789-1969) includes reports and documents either produced or ordered by Congress, as well as presidential communications and treaty materials.
  • United States Serial Set Maps
    More than 56,000 maps of paramount importance to historians, other social scientists, students and scholars.