small text medium text large text

Biography & Genealogy
Research Databases

Logging on from home or work?

You can log into almost all of the databases listed below from outside the library using your library barcode number. If you don't have a library card, you may do so by reviewing the registration options on our Get a Library Card page.

Please make sure that you are accessing this page via http://www.carnegielibrary.org/ and NOT clpgh.org. Click here to correct.

Those databases specified with "No Remote Access" must be used from a computer inside the library. "Remote Access (CLP Card)" databases are only accessible with a Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh (CLP) library card. Click here if not a CLP cardholder.

Having problems? See our Troubleshooting Tips or contact us.

Genealogy

Ancestry Library Edition
NO Remote Access
A comprehensive source of information for conducting genealogical and local history research.
FOLD3
History and Genealogy Archives
(formerly Footnote)
Pennsylvania Department ONLY
NO Remote Access
Only available in the Pennsylvania Department of the Main Library. To access FOLD3 use the desktop icon on Pennsylvania Department PC's in the Main Libray.
Fold3 provides convenient access to US military records, including the stories, photos, and personal documents of the men and women who served, as well as access to naturalization records/indexes, city directories, historical newspapers and more. The Fold3 name comes from a traditional flag folding ceremony in which the third fold is made in honor and remembrance of veterans who served in defense of their country and to maintain peace throughout the world.
Historic Pittsburgh
Search U.S. Census Schedules for the City of Pittsburgh (1850-1880) and Allegheny City (1850-1870), view images of historic Pittsburgh maps and photographs.
Newspaper Archive
Library Access
(CLP Only)
NO Remote Access
An historical newspaper database which contains newspapers from every state and 7 foreign countries- over 2,434 titles. The archive's newspapers date from 1759 to the present.
Passenger Lists from the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA)
Four series of passenger lists containing over 6 million names of immigrants from Germany, Italy, Russia and the famine years of Ireland.
Sanborn Digital Fire Insurance Maps 1867-1970 - Pennsylvania
Remote Access
(CLP Card)
Sanborn fire insurance maps are the most frequently consulted maps in both public and academic libraries. Sanborn maps are valuable historical tools for urban specialists, social historians, architects, geographers, genealogists, local historians, planners, environmentalists and anyone who wants to learn about the history, growth, and development of American cities, towns, and neighborhoods.

Up  Return to the top

 

Biography

African American Experience
Full text information on African American history and culture.
Biography and Genealogy Master Index
Comprehensive index to biographical reference works.
Biography In Context
Comprehensive database of biographical information. Includes full text biographical articles from many popular magazines.
Contemporary Authors
Biographical and critical articles on current writers of fiction, nonfiction, poetry, journalism, drama, motion pictures and television.