ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry
A source for major trade and industry news. It includes in-depth coverage of companies, products, executives, trends, and other topics for more than 1,250 publications, with over 1,140 in full-text. Users can study and compare specific trades and industries, including telecommunications, computing, transportation, construction, petrochemicals, and many others.
A.M. Best's Library Center
NO remote Access
Best's Library Center provides online access to A.M. Best insurance company ratings and Best's Insurance Reports. The database includes in-depth reports on thousands of U.S., Canadian and Non-U.S. insurers, reinsurers and groups.
Academic OneFile
Need journal articles for a research paper, homework assignment, or professional / business project? Academic OneFile contains over 6,000 full-text articles from peer-reviewed sources, as well as more than 8,000 additional abstracts / citations. Additional materials include podcasts and transcripts from news outlets such as NPR, CNN, and CBC.
Access PA POWER Library

Pennsylvania Online World of Electronic Resources, access to 21 of the databases listed here.
Access Pennsylvania On-Line Catalog
Shared catalog for materials owned by most PA libraries.
African American Experience
Full text information on African American history and culture.
African American Song
African American Song is now a part of American Song! To listen to historical recordings of African American music, visit
American Song or
Music Online Plus
American History in Video
Log in to watch historic newsreels, award-winning PBS shows, History Channel content and more directly in your web browser. Browse by historical subject/era or search for specific topics. Also includes video transcripts and specialized playlists, as well as the option to create your own list of historical favorites.
American Song
Streaming audio of 50,000 tracks from America's musical past. Includes songs of Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests and more.
Ancestry Library Edition ProQuest
NO Remote Access
A comprehensive source of information for conducting genealogical and local history research.
AP Multimedia Archives
Current and historic photos and graphics from the Associated Press.
Applied Science & Business Periodicals Retrospective: 1913-1983
From the rise and fall of drugs such as Thalidomide to the business of oil, the evolution of satellite technology to the emergence of the global economy, this is a rich account of technological advances, business strategies, company profiles, iconic executives and scientists, and much more. This unique reference is the ideal single source for information on the most important events, issues, and trends in the history of business and industry.
Applied Science & Business Periodicals Retrospective features:
Citations to more than 4.5 million articles from more than 2,000 periodicals.
Updated subject headings, ensuring that a search using either old or new search terms will return all the information on that subject.
Original subject headings to offer insight into the way the issues of the day were framed.
Applied Science & Technology Full Text
Provides articles from major scientific and technical journals in all areas of engineering and technology, including topics ranging from acoustics to waste management.
ARBAOnline
American Reference Books Annual online.
Art Full Text + Art Index Retrospective
Index to articles from art, architecture & design magazines, back to 1929. Some full text and abstracts.
ArtFact
NO Remote Access
Auction records for antiques & collectibles, used by the experts on the Antiques Roadshow
Main Library Access*
NO Remote Access
Auction records (1985-present) for fine arts.
Associations Unlimited
Detailed information on national, international and regional associations.
Auto Repair Reference Center
Detailed and diagrammed automotive repair and maintenance information covering most major manufacturers.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals (within FirstSearch)
A comprehensive listing of journal articles published worldwide on architecture and design, archaeology, city planning, interior design, landscape architecture, and historic preservation. Avery indexes not only the international scholarly and popular periodical literature, but also the publications of professional associations, US state and regional periodicals, and the major serial publications on architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. Coverage is from the 1930s (with selective coverage dating back to the 1740s) to the present. Updated weekly.
Barrons ProQuest Digital Microfilm™
View Barrons in digital microfilm format from January, 2008.
Biography and Genealogy Master Index - Gale Group
Comprehensive index to biographical reference works.
Biography In Context - Gale Group
Comprehensive database of biographical information. Includes full text biographical articles from many popular magazines.
Business and Company Resource Center
Company profiles, industry descriptions, association information, investment reports, full-text articles and citations.
Career Cruising
Career profiles, assessment tools, and other career-related information.
Chronicle Career Library
NO Remote Access
The Chronicle Career Library provides comprehensive descriptions of more than 2,000 jobs. Each occupational brief includes information on the work performed, training, education or certifications needed, hours and earnings, and employment outlook.
Classical Music Library
Listen to classical music online. Now part of Music Online Plus.
NO Remote Access
There are four databases you can search, all using the same search page or interface. Use advanced search to limit it to only one database. (Formerly Lexis-Nexis)
- Congressional
This collection includes the full text of congressional publications, finding aids, a bill tracking service, and the full text of public laws and other research materials.
- Congressional Hearings, 1824 - 1979
Both published and unpublished Hearings contain the full transcripts of proceedings, including all oral statements, committee questions, and discussion. They also contain texts of related reports, statistical analyses, correspondence, exhibits, and articles presented by witnesses or inserted into the record by committee members and staff.
- United States Serial Set
Considered one of the most important sources for the study of American history, politics and society, this collection of government publications begins in 1789 with the American State Papers and details Congressional business through 1969. It includes reports and documents either produced or ordered by Congress, as well as presidential communications and treaty materials.
- United States Serial Set Maps
The more than 56,000 maps found in the collection, some of which represent the first geological, soil and population maps of many states and territories, are of paramount importance to historians, other social scientists, students and scholars.
Consumer Health Complete
This full-text database covers health topics such as aging, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children's health, men & women's health, etc.
Contemporary Authors
Biographical and critical articles on current writers of fiction, nonfiction, poetry, journalism, drama, motion pictures and television.
Contemporary World Music
A new addition, this site aims to be one that “delivers the sounds of all regions from every continent.” Currently this constantly growing site features over 8,000 tracks of music from around the world.
CQ Researcher Plus Archive
CQ Researcher Plus Archive provides unbiased coverage of current issues, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Each report is researched and written by a seasoned journalist providing an overview, chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; pro/con viewpoints of opposing positions; and supporting data including bibliographies of key sources. The CQ Researcher archive includes more than 3,000 reports published between 1923 and 1990.
CUFTS
Built by Simon Frazer University, CUFTS allows you to look up a journal title, see in which databases it is indexed, and what the date ranges of full-text coverage, if any, are. Once you've found your databases, check this
alphabetical list to see if the Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh subscribes.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Online reference books.
Global Issues in Context
Looking for high-quality information on current events and controversial issues? Global Issues in Context gathers together journal articles, news reports, and other sources of credible information on topics of worldwide interest. Explore all sides of society's most important issues with this full-text database. Great for students and concerned citizens alike!
GreenFILE
This collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles on environmental issues. Topics include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, and recycling.
Grove Art Online (Now within Oxford Art Online)
Encyclopedia of art, architecture & design.
Grove Music Online (now within Oxford Music Online)
Encyclopedia of music of all kinds, especially classical, ethnic, opera and jazz.
Foundation Center ONLY
No Remote Access
Only available at the
Foundation Center
GuideStar provides information on the programs and finances of more than 1.8 million IRS-recognized nonprofits across the United States. GuideStar Premium is a comprehensive and authoritative source of information on both grantmakers and grantseeking tax-exempt charities. It is easy to use and updated each day.
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA)
A bibliographic database that provides coverage on subjects such as librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more.
Literature Criticism Online
Literature Criticism Online provides more than 200,000 reprinted essays of both critical perspectives and in-depth contextual information needed to understand the social, political and historical implications of hundreds of literary works, writers and literary periods. These scholarly overviews and analysis are copied from the print editions of Gale's popular and authoritative Literary Criticism series, and are available in PDF format.
Literature Resource Center (LRC) - Gale Group
Author information, literary criticism and plot summaries for authors from every age and literary discipline.
Live Homework Help
Got homework? Get online help from real tutors! Live Homework Help offers online tutoring for 4th grade to College level questions in English, Math, Science and Social Studies. Non-traditional students and adult learners can take advantage of essay writing, skills building, GED prep, and other tutoring services designed specifically for adults. To find out how it works, sign up for an account and click their "Check out our FAQs" link.
Every day from 3 pm to 10 pm!
Mango Languages
Learn Chinese, Russian, Spanish, and a host of other languges, or improve your ESL skills, with Mango's web-based lessons.
MarciveWeb DOCS
NO Remote Access
Catalog of U. S. Government publications from 1976 to the present.
MasterFILE Premier
Full text coverage of the most popular magazines and journals. Also includes many reference books, photographs and maps.
MedlinePlus®
Authoritative consumer health information from the National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health.
Million Dollar Database (Dun & Bradstreet's) - Total U.S.
14 million companies, from the smallest to the largest, with extensive information on each and downloading capabilities.
Moody's/Mergent Manual Archive
NO remote access
Online Access to the complete contents of all back issues of the following Moody's or Mergent Manuals to 1909
Morningstar Investment Research Center
Contains mutual fund and stock ratings and reports, including detailed analyst reports, from Morningstar Inc.
Music In Print
NO Remote Access
Lists currently available printed music.
Music Index
Citations to articles appearing in music periodicals back to 1979. The Library owns paper copies of
Music Index from 1949 - 1996.
Explore all of our Alexander Street Press music databases via the Music Online Plus interface. This portal lets you search and use materials from American Song, Classical Music Library, Contemporary World Music, and Smithsonian Global Sound without having to jump from database to database.
Naxos Music Library
Listen to classical, jazz & world music online.
You must use the log out button when exiting this database, or future log-ins may be unsuccessful.
Naxos Music Library Jazz
Listen to streaming audio of jazz music.
You must use the log out button when exiting this database, or future log-ins may be unsuccessful.
Naxos Spoken Word Library
Listen to streaming audio of adult and children's classic fiction, non-fiction, plays, and poetry.
You must use the log out button when exiting this database, or future log-ins may be unsuccessful.
New York Times
Free access to full-text articles in .PDF format between 1850-1930, and 1980-present.
Although initially centered on New York City, you can input your zipcode to find out the racial makeup, income, home values (increase/decline), and education levels of any neighborhood. Data is from the
U.S. Census Bureau's American Community Survey, based on samples from 2005 to 2009.
New York Times ProQuest Digital Microfilm™
View the New York Times in digital microfilm format from January, 2008.
Newspaper Archive
NO Remote Access
An historical newspaper database which contains newspapers from every state and 7 foreign countries- over 2,434 titles. The archive's newspapers date from 1759 to the present.
NoveList
Includes fiction authors, titles and themes. Provides suggestions of books that are similar to those of a particular author or a certain title.
Novelist K-8
Information about more than 38,000 fiction titles of interest to students in grades K-8. Full text reviews from professional journals and book talks for selected titles are available in this database.
NOZA
Foundation Center ONLY
No Remote Access
Only available at the
Foundation Center
The NOZASearch database helps nonprofits identify, cultivate, and solicit major gifts for their organizations and is considered one of the top 5 most used prospect research tools. NOZA information comes from publicly available sources, including annual reports and donor lists. The database lists nearly 50 million donations to U.S. nonprofits, providing access to donor name, gift amount, donation type, gift year, recipient organization and more.
OmniFile Mega (HW Wilson)
Multi-disciplinary full-text database covering Art, Education, Social Science, the Humanities, Business, Science, Current Events, and more. Contains Indexing and Abstracting of 4000 journals, with Full Text from more than 2500 journals. Includes Full Text from 1995 forward, and Indexing from 1982 forward.
OmniFile Full Text Select (HW Wilson)
100% full-text multi-disciplinary database Art, Education, Social Science, the Humanities, Business, Science, Current Events, and more.
Opera in Video
Opera in Video allows library cardholders to watch opera on demand and free of charge. This frequently updated database contains streaming video of great operas from the Baroque period through the 20th century as well as interviews and documentaries focusing on opera.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Full text of books that cover both sides of social issues.
Oxford English Dictionary
NO Remote Access
Contains the complete text of the Oxford English Dictionary from its 20-volume Second Edition and its 3-volume Additions Series.
Oxford Art Online
Oxford Art Online includes Grove Art Online, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.
Oxford Music Online
Includes The Oxford Dictionary of Music, Grove Music Online (includes the New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, Grove Dictionary of Jazz and Grove Dictionary of Opera) and The Oxford Companion to Music.
Oxford Reference Online
Full-text entries from over 100 encyclopedias and dictionaries on subjects such as art, history, languages, literature, philosophy, quotations, science, and more.
PA POWER Library

Pennsylvania Online World of Electronic Resources, access to 21 of the databases listed here.
Passenger Lists from the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA)
Four series of passenger lists containing over 6 million names of immigrants from Germany, Italy, Russia and the famine years of Ireland.
The Pittsburgh Courier (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Explore local history with this full-text archive of The Pittsburgh Courier. Covers the years 1911-2002.
Pittsburgh Post-Gazette
Articles posted on post-gazette.com since 1998. Does not include the entire archives of the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette.
Pittsburgh Post-Gazette ProQuest Digital Microfilm™
View the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette in digital microfilm format from January, 2009.
Pittsburgh Technology Council Member Directory
A searchable directory of the 1,400 Southwestern Pennsylvania member companies of the Pittsburgh Technology Council.
POWER Library

Pennsylvania Online World of Electronic Resources, access to 21 of the databases listed here.
Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 (HW Wilson)
For over 100 years, Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature has become the ultimate index of subjects in the popular press, has earned the trust of researchers at all levels, and has been hailed by Library Journal as one of the "50 Best Reference Sources for the Millennium." All the information from 44 Readers' Guide annuals in a single database that you can search easily and precisely; access to over 3 million article citations from approximately 375 leading magazines; many of the articles are peer reviewed.
Readers' Guide Select (HW Wilson)
Full-text database containing indexing, abstracting, and full text of 200 of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and Canada.
Reference Universe
NO Remote Access
Reference Universe searches the complete indexes of more than 10,000 designated reference titles, and then indicates which titles are in the collection at Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh’s Main Library. Nearly 2,000 of these titles are online editions. Reference Universe places the reference collection of Carnegie Library’s Main Library at your fingertips and is updated monthly.
Reference USA
- U.S. Businesses: Information on 14 million U.S. Businesses
- International Business: Profiles of 3 million international businesses with information from OneSource (CLP card)
- New Businesses: Find newly registered businesses by date and location (CLP Card)
- U.S. Residential: Information on 135 million US households
Please contact Reference USA at 1.800.808.1113 if you have any problems accessing the database with your Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh library card.
Resume Maker
Step-by-step resume instruction, job search advice, and career information are available to you via the ResumeMaker portal. Users can create a free account to save document drafts and other career information. Also contains job and career-related video clips and tutorials.
Electronic access to over 1,000 articles on diseases, disorders, treatments, procedures, specialties, anatomy, biology, and medical issues. Also contains over 400 photographs and illustrations. This electronic resource includes the entire contents of both Magill's Medical Guide and Salem Press's reference book, Cancer.
Salem History
Salem History provides full-text digital access to primary source documents and reference resources from prehistory through the present day. Historical fields covered include religion, sports, American history, world history, and interdisciplinary biographies.
Salem Literature
Searchable literary criticism of selected authors and works. More titles added as they arrive. Current offerings include volumes on Toni Morrison and Jane Austen, and individual works by Tennessee Williams and Arthur Miller.
Salem Science
Online access to Salem Press's Forensics Science Reference. Science reference itles will be added to the Salem Science portal as purchased.
Sanborn Digital Fire Insurance Maps 1867-1970 - Pennsylvania
Sanborn fire insurance maps are the most frequently consulted maps in both public and academic libraries. Sanborn maps are valuable historical tools for urban specialists, social historians, architects, geographers, genealogists, local historians, planners, environmentalists and anyone who wants to learn about the history, growth, and development of American cities, towns, and neighborhoods.
Science Full Text Select (HW Wilson)
100% full-text database covering the sciences. Includes the full text from 360 journals from Wilson's Applied Science, Biological & Agricultural, and General Science databases, as well as science related articles from other Wilson databases.
Science in Context
Magazine & journal articles, reference books, websites and more on science topics from biology to polymorphism.
Science Online (Facts On File)
Science Experiments and more. This database will not only help you find a science experiment, but it will provide definitions, diagrams, facts, timelines, and essays, too.
SIRS Discoverer
Full-text articles and graphics from newspapers and magazines for elementary and middle school students.
Smithsonian Global Sound
Listen to world, folk and traditional music online.
Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage
Online access to Standard & Poor's stock, bond and mutual fund research and reports plus the investment newsletter The Outlook. Also includes access to the in-depth S&P Industry Reports [no remote access], Corporation Records, and directories of corporations, their executives, and securities dealers in North America.
Teacher Reference Center
Provides abstract information from over 260 of the most popular teacher and administrator trade journals.
Testing & Education Reference Center
Database of college, graduate & vocational schools that also offers test preparation & practice exams.
Theatre in Video
Explore 20th-century theatre history via this streaming video database. Contents include the complete BBC Shakespeare performances, live television broadcasts from the 1950s, experimental theatre of the 60s and 70s, important contemporary performances, and theatre documentaries.
Tribune-Review Website Search
Site search is limited to articles published on the website since 2001. Does not include all articles published by the Pittsburgh Tribune-Review.
Tuition Funding Sources
Students can search the TFS databases for scholarships and other forms of financial aid, take personality and career aptitude tests, and search for detailed college information. TuitionFundingSources.com also maintains a large database of athletic scholarships. When registering, new users should select "Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh" as their school.
TumbleBooks
TumbleBooks add animation, sound, music and narration to existing picture books, producing an electronic picture book which you can read or have read to you. TumbleBooks are created in flash animation and require the
Adobe Flash Player Plugin.
U.S. History in Context
One-stop source for U.S. history, including primary documents, full-text articles, images, maps and more.
USA Today ProQuest Digital Microfilm™
View USA Today in digital microfilm format from January, 2009.
USA Trade Online
NO Remote Access
A sister website to STAT-USA by the U.S. Dept. of Commerce it provides U.S. import and export data on over 18,000 commodities.
*ONLY accessible in
Downtown & Business and
Reference Services of the Main Library in Oakland; fee-based offsite.
United States Serial Set & Congressional Papers (Proquest)
NO Remote Access
There are four databases you can search, all using the same search page or interface. Use advanced search to limit it to only one database. Includes Congressional publications, Congressional Hearings, United States Serial Set (1789-1969) and United States Serial Set Maps.
Wall Street Journal ProQuest Digital Microfilm™
View the Wall Street Journal in digital microfilm format from January, 2008.
The World Almanac Online
This online version of the World Almanac provides facts and statistics on topics ranging from economics to pop culture, history to current events.
The World Almanac for Kids Online
This online version of the World Almanac for Kids provides facts and statistics on many topics, including states, countries, animals, U.S. presidents, space, and more.
World History in Context
One-stop source for world history, including primary documents, full-text articles, images, maps and more.
WorldWideScience.org
A global science gateway-accelerating scientific discovery and progress through a multilateral partnership to enable federated searching of national and international scientific databases and portals.